Chairperson & CAO

Adult Parole Board Chairperson

Following the retirement of His Honour Peter Couzens on 31 December 2021, Her Honour Judge Susan Pullen QC was appointed Acting Chairperson of the Adult Parole Board (the Board) for six months from 1 January 2022. She will act as Chairperson until the substantive Chairperson is appointed.  

Her Honour was first appointed to the Board in November 2013 as a judicial member (this member type is now called divisional chairperson). She was then appointed as Deputy Chairperson from November 2019. 

Her Honour has over 35 years’ experience in criminal law. She was appointed as a Judge of the County Court of Victoria from 2006 until she retired in November 2020. Prior to that, she was Counsel at the Victorian Bar, Crown Prosecutor and Senior Crown Prosecutor. 

Her Honour was appointed as Senior Counsel in 2004 and Queen’s Counsel in 2021. 

Adult Parole Board Chief Administrative Officer

Rachael Bolton is the Chief Administrative Officer of the Board. 

Ms Bolton is an experienced leader who has worked in a variety of leadership roles within State and Commonwealth government departments. Ms Bolton has extensive experience in building and strengthening teams, stakeholder engagement and proactively developing stakeholder relationships, and driving continuous improvement through innovation.

Before joining the Board’s Secretariat in August 2021, Ms Bolton was General Manager of the Department of Justice and Community Safety’s Offender Management Development Branch for over three and a half years.

Prior to that, Ms Bolton was Manager of Multicultural Community Grants at the Department of Premier and Cabinet, a 12-month secondment from the Department of Home Affairs.

Between 2006 and 2016, Ms Bolton held several managerial and Assistant Director positions at the Department of Home Affairs (formerly the Department of Immigration and Border Protection) where she worked extensively on issues in the Refugee and Humanitarian portfolio.

Ms Bolton holds a Master of Business Administration (MBA) from the University of Canberra, a double degree in Arts and Economics from the Australian National University, as well as a Graduate Diploma in Human Rights Law from The University of Melbourne.